October 6th – November 30th, 2012

presented by
ART from the ashes (AFTA) &  Art.Science.Gallery. (512.5228.ART)
with support from Big Medium
Texas Forestry Museum, 1905 Atkinson Drive, Lufkin, Texas
Exhibition Hours: Monday – Saturday 10:00am to 5:00pm
Opening Reception + Activities: Saturday Oct. 6th 3:00pm to 5:00pm

Click here to view the full catalog. Art sales directly benefit the Lost Pines Recovery Team. 

In September of 2011, the most destructive wildfire in Texas history raged through Bastrop County, TX. The Bastrop County Complex Fire destroyed 1,667 homes, destroyed 33,033 acres and claimed two lives. Known as the Lost Pines Region, this blaze devastated the population of its signature Loblolly pine and further compromised the habitat of the endangered Houston Toad.

This exhibition will feature works of art created and donated by Texas based artists and ART from the ashes. In AFTA’s spirit of “Support. Inspire. Create. Renew,” works featured will incorporate materials salvaged from fire site locations in Bastrop County. Proceeds from the sale of art and donations at these exhibitions will support the restoration efforts of Bastrop County’s Lost Pines Recovery Team

Art.Science.Gallery. is proud to partner with our friends at ART from the ashes (AFTA) with support from Big Medium, to continue their fundraising efforts for the Lost Pines Recovery Team’s restoration work in the Lost Pines Region of Bastrop County. The ART from the ashes exhibition at the Texas Forestry Museum will be the third incarnation of AFTA’s Texas fundraising initiatives during 2012, following exhibitions in April in Austin, TX and June in Bastrop, TX. The exhibit will feature select works from the Austin and Bastrop exhibition, several new works and a unique art-science exhibit that explores the creative ways in which fire ecology has been depicted in art through the ages. Proceeds will support the restoration efforts of the Lost Pines Recovery Team.

This video explores the Austin AFTA benefit for the Lost Pines Recovery Team:


contributing artists. Leon Alesi, Stella Alesi, Billy Beasty, Jill Bedgood, Laura Dugan, Joy Feuer, Brooke Gassiot, Hayley Gillespie, Leah Godfrey, Jesse Hartman, Roxanne Hernandez, Peggy Jo Hilburn, Shea Little, Paul Mangan, Revi Meicler, Paul Meyer, Aaron Michalovic, Marjorie Moore, Kandra Niagra, Karol Rice, Rebecca Roberts, Barbara Samuelson, Nina Savill, Andrew Shapter, Russell Smith, Jessica Stone, W. Tucker, Kenny Trice, Wendy Wight, Jon Windham, Michael Yates.